Become a Member

Health Information Technology Standards

Health Information Technology Standardization

Interactive Table | Tutorials

Health Information Technology Standardization Process

The health information technology (HIT) standardization process includes the following phases:

Health Information Technology Standardization Entities

The health information technology (HIT) standardization process is carried out by the following entities:

Use the Interactive Table below to learn more about the health information technology standardization phases, entities and products.

Health Information Technology Standardization Phases, Products, and Entities
Health IT Standardization Phases Needs & Priorities for Health Information Exchanges and HIT Standards Standards Development Standards Selection & Harmonization Implementation of Standards-Based Specifications Certification of Standards-Based HIT Products Adoption of Standards-Based HIT Products
Goal What to accomplish What are the standards What standards to use Show how standards can work in an HIT product Certify standards-based HIT Products Deploy standards-based HIT products
Health IT Standardization Entities ONC HIT PC
Standard Development Organizations (SDOs) HITSP
HISPC S&I Framework
State Alliance for e-Health
ONC EHR Certification Program
Industry Proposed IHE & PHDSC Deployment Workshops
Standards Documents Use Cases: AHIC, S&I, Direct, HITSP
Standards Interoperability Specifications
Policy Frameworks
Integration Profiles
Implementation Reports
ONC Final Rule
Certification Criteria for HIT Products
Deployment Reports
Direct Project