Become a Member

Health Information Technology Standards

Health Information Technology Policy Committee

The Health Information Technology (HIT) Policy Committee is a federal advisory committee (FACA) and makes recommendations to ONC on a policy framework for the development and adoption of a nationwide health information infrastructure, including standards for the exchange of patient medical information. The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) provides that the Health IT Policy Committee shall at least make recommendations on the areas in which standards, implementation specifications, and certifications criteria are needed in specific areas.

Eleven HIT Policy Committee workgroups have been formed as sub-committees to the parent FACA. These workgroups meet periodically to discuss their topics, present their findings at HIT Policy Committee meetings, and make recommendations to the HIT Policy Committee.

The HIT Policy Committee workgroups are:

  • Certification/Adoption
  • Enrollment
  • Governance
  • Information Exchange
  • Meaningful Use
  • Nationwide Health Information Network (NwHIN)
  • PCAST Report
  • Privacy & Security Tiger Team
  • Quality Measures
  • Strategic Plan